Hon. Olivia Grange Announce New Board for JNC-UNESCO, 2016-19 Jamaica

Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, the Honourable Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange will lead the new board of the Jamaica National Commission for UNESCO in the capacity of Chairman.

This, in keeping with the tradition of senior officials of the Ministry to which the National Commission is attached assuming ex-officio chairmanship. The Minister made the disclosure when she announced the appointment of a new Board of Directors of the Commission as approved by Cabinet to serve for a period of three years.

“Under my leadership and with the utmost dedication from these members, the Jamaica National Commission for UNESCO will continue to foster and coordinate significant partnerships between the Government of Jamaica and other member states of the United Nations Education, Scientific and Culture Organization (UNESCO),” she said.

The newly appointed board members of the Jamaica National Commission for UNESCO are:
– Hon. Olivia Grange, CD, MP
– Chairman · Mr Lenford Salmon
– Deputy Chairman
– Min. Floyd Green
– Senator Pearnel Charles, Jnr
– Professor Ronald Young
– Ambassador Marcia Gilbert-Roberts
– Ms. Nadeen Spence
– Mrs. Laleta DavisMattis
– Mrs. Roberta Ellis
– Ms. Giselle Jones
– Mr. Cordell Green
– Professor Lloyd Waller
– Mr. Orville Byfield
– Mr. William Mahfood
– Ms. Joy Douglas
– Mr. Cliff Hughes
– Mr. Everton Hannam

According to Minister Grange, the membership of the board is broadly represented and is in keeping with UNESCO’s Constitution which states that, “each Government should ensure that its National Commission is composed of representatives of Ministries, intellectual communities, civil society partners and individuals dealing with matters of Education, Science, Culture and Communications.”

The Minister expressed confidence in the new board, indicating that she is looking forward to fruitful discussions and meaningful actions as she moves forward and thanked them for accepting the call to serve. She also thanked the outgoing members for their contributions during the period in which they served.