UNESCO Office in Kingston

The UNESCO Kingston Cluster Office for the Caribbean was set up in January 2002 as part of the reorganization of UNESCO field structure.  It works with and for 13 Member States and six Associate Member States in the English and Dutch-speaking Caribbean. Before 2002, the Kingston office had responsibilities for Jamaica, Belize and the Bahamas.

The mandate of the office is to serve the Caribbean countries in the pursuit of peace, eradication of poverty, sustainable development and inter-cultural dialogue through programmes in education, culture, natural sciences, social and human sciences and communication and information.

The office implements programmes designed to support Member States and Associate Member States in the Caribbean in reaching international goals and commitments such as the Millennium Development Goals, Education for All goals, the Mauritius Programme of Action for the Sustainable Development of Small Islands Developing States and the Action Plan of the World Summit on the Information Society.

We collaborate and cooperate with the National Commissions for UNESCO in the countries in the Cluster, other agencies in the UN System, CARICOM, the OECS, civil society groups, educational and research institutions as well as professional bodies working in our areas of mandate.